What You Need To Know About FCC Certification


The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent agency of the United States government that was established to regulate all forms of telecommunications within the United States, including radio, television, satellites, wireless devices and a wide range of radio frequency (RF) electronics. The FCC was created by the Communications Act of 1934 to replace the radio regulatory functions of the Federal Radio Commission.

Products that emit any type of radio frequency energy must be tested and certified before being marketed or sold in the United States. Standards have been created by the FCC for products that may contribute to electromagnetic interference to reduce the level of radio frequency between electronic devices. Manufacturers who plan to sell electronic equipment should ensure that their products will not electromagnetically interfere with other products or pose a risk to the public. Most electronic devices capable of oscillating above 9 kHz must obtain FCC certification.

All devices must be tested and comply with emission regulations, to comply with applicable regulations before receiving FCC certification. Products requiring certification are intentional or unintentional radiators of radio frequency energy. Intentional heaters are devices like a smartphone, which must radiate radio energy as part of their operation. Unintentional heaters are electronics, like a digital camera that can create radio signals and broadcast them through space or power lines as an unintended by-product of their operation.

Example of intentional / unintentional devices requiring certification:

  • Power Adapters

  • Remote control transmitters

  • Baby monitors

  • Bluetooth devices

  • Cordless phones

  • Wireless medical transmitters

  • Garage doors / door openers

  • Modems

  • Head games

FCC regulations

The Federal Communications Commission has standards in place to test devices based on the type of radio frequency being emitted. Categories have been created to identify and test products for certified authorization. The tests are divided by product type and named by the following: FCC Part 11, FCC Part 15, FCC Part 18, FCC Part 22, FCC Part 24, FCC Part 90, and FCC Part 95. The FCC will determine the method of testing. of your device. will have to switch depending on the type of device you're making.

FCC Declaration of Conformity

Also known as the FCC label or FCC mark, this is a certification mark used on electronic products manufactured or sold in the United States that certifies that electromagnetic interference from the United States. Device are under the limits approved by the Federal Communications Commission. According to the regulations, the FCC DoC certification mark is mandatory for devices classified in Part 15 (IT equipment such as computers, switching power supplies, monitors, etc., television receivers, cable system devices, etc. low-power transmitters, unlicensed personal communications devices) and part 18 (industrial, scientific, and medical (ISM) devices that emit RF radiation) of the FCC Rules.

FCC acceptance in Latin American and Caribbean countries

Contrary to popular belief, the FCC approval does not cover requirements for Latin America and the Caribbean. Each country in these regions has its own regulatory body with its own set of regulations and restrictions. In some cases, we may use the existing test reports (FCC, CE) for the approval process to avoid testing in the country, but the FCC or CE approval does not meet to it alone the requirements.

Comments are closed.