Are you aware of the pepper spray laws in your state? In most areas, buying a can of pepper spray for protection is pretty easy when you hit the age of 18. In others, however, laws are in place that regulate who can purchase the substance and how much capsaicin – the chemical in pepper – can be allowed. The places where pepper spray can be purchased also vary, as some states even have laws requiring a resident to purchase the chemical in person. If you plan to use it as a method of protection, it is advisable to check your local laws before attempting to purchase any product.
Two important factors in purchasing this substance in various states are the location and age of a person. Massachusetts has the strictest regulations among the 50 states. In the state, the chemical can only be purchased from a licensed gun dealer and the person carrying the substance must have a firearms ID card or license to carry firearms after obtaining. In New York City, New Jersey, and Washington State, a person must purchase the substance in person and have proof of age. Additionally, New Jersey will not allow criminals – even over the age of 18 – to purchase the substance, while Washington state will allow 14-year-olds to transport it with the consent of the child. # 39; a tutor.
Concentration and strength restrictions also vary by state. In Wisconsin, for example, the maximum concentration of capsaicin allowed is 10 percent in a formula between 15 and 60 grams or a half to two ounce spray. This spray, moreover, must measure more than six feet and not exceed 20 feet. In Michigan, likewise, capsaicin cannot make up more than two percent of the active ingredients. New Jersey and California, furthermore, limit sizes to three-quarters of an ounce for a chemical and 2.5 ounces in total, respectively.